Executive Chairman

Lawrence Stroll, 

Executive Chairman, Aston Martin Lagonda

Lawrence Stroll became Executive Chairman of Aston Martin Lagonda in April 2020 after leading a strong investment consortium to take a shareholding in the Group. The Canadian businessman is famed for acquiring and building up luxury brands such as Ralph Lauren, Michael Kors and Asprey and Garrard, and also for his passion for the luxury automotive and motorsport sectors. Stroll’s role as Executive Chairman demonstrates that he is actively engaged in the future of Aston Martin Lagonda.  


Stroll’s career began over 30 years ago when his family acquired the Pierre Cardin children’s wear licence for Canada.  


In 1989, Stroll formed Sportswear Holdings Limited with Hong Kong fashion investor Silas Chou. They acquired the Tommy Hilfiger brand and later Pepe Jeans, which is the parent brand of Aston Martin partner, Hackett. In 2003, Sportswear Holdings acquired a majority interest in Michael Kors, where Stroll and Chou led the business through its successful IPO.  


Stroll is an active investor historically in the automotive and motorsport sectors, best known for leading a consortium to acquire the BWT Racing Point F1™ team in 2018, which from 2021 will be rebranded as the Aston Martin F1™ team.

Independent non-executive directors


Peter Espenhahn

Chair of the Board’s Audit and Risk Committee

Mr. Espenhahn has long financial experience, having worked on audit, tax and investigations with Deloitte, Plender, Griffiths & Co and, from 1972 to 1998, in corporate finance with Morgan Grenfell & Co. Ltd and Deutsche Bank. He was subsequently a non-executive director and later chair of Telspec plc, a telecoms manufacturer, and chair of Bibendum Wine (Holdings) Ltd and Old Broad Street Research Ltd.


Mr. Espenhahn has an MA in Economics and Law from the University of Cambridge.


Lord Matthew Carrington

Chair of the Board’s Remuneration Committee

Lord Carrington is a member of the House of Lords and non-executive director of the Arab British Chamber of Commerce and CarringtonCrisp Ltd. He has been a non-executive board member of various businesses and associations, including Gatehouse Bank plc, where he was also chairman of the board from 2015 to 2017. He has served as Chief Executive of the Retail Motor Industry Federation and Executive Chairman of the Outdoor Advertising Association. From 1993 to 1996, Lord Carrington was a member of the Treasury Select Committee, becoming Chairman in 1996, and served as Government Whip. Lord Carrington was also a manager at the Saudi International Bank in London, where he set up and ran the bank’s Islamic financing department.


Lord Carrington holds a BSc in Physics from Imperial College London and a MSc in Economics from the London Business School.


Shareholder representatives

Amr Ali Abdallah AbouelSeoud

Mr. AbouelSeoud has been a director within the Group since March 2007. With over 20 years of experience in the investment industry, Mr. AbouelSeoud also currently holds board positions at Tejara Capital Limited, Tejara Capital Investment Bank, Manazel Real Estate Developments Company, Credit Rating & Collection Company and Grosvenor House Apartments Limited (UK).


Mr. AbouelSeoud has worked at Coopers & Lybrand and Ernst & Young and has a Bachelor of Commerce and Accounting from Cairo University. He is a Certified Public Accountant.


Mahmoud Samy Mohamed Ali El Sayed

Mr. Ali El Sayed has been a director within the Group since March 2007. He is the current Chief Executive Officer and Vice Chair of Adeem Investment and Wealth Management Company and serves as the Chair of the board at Manazel Development Company (K.S.C.C – Kuwait) and Grosvenor House Apartments Limited (UK) and is a director of Wethaq Takaful Insurance Egypt (S.A.E). Prior to this, Mr. Ali El Sayed was an Executive Vice-President of Investment and Risk Management at EFAD Holding (K.S.C.C) and had also worked in assurance services for PricewaterhouseCoopers in Kuwait and KPMG in Egypt. He holds a BS (Commerce) in accountancy from Cairo University and is a Certified Risk Analyst and a Certified Public Accountant.


Michael de Picciotto

Michael de Picciotto joined the Board as a representative non-executive director of the Yew Tree Consortium in April 2020.


Michael de Picciotto is Vice-Chairman of the Supervisory Board of Engel & Volkërs AG, a Hamburg-based real estate group founded in 1977, a position he has held since March 2016, having been an important shareholder in the firm since 2014.


Michael started his career at RBC Dominion Securities, a global investment bank, in 1982 where he held several roles in Paris and London and was co-head of the Capital Markets department from 1986 to 1988.


Michael then joined Union Bancaire Privée (UBP), a family owned Swiss private bank in London and Geneva where he worked for 27 years until 2015. During that time, he held several senior leadership positions including being responsible for UBP’s global financial activities as well as treasury and trading and its London operations from 1990. Michael also served as a long-standing member of the Executive Board of Union Bancaire Privée and remains a shareholder in the bank. Michael studied at the Ecole des Hautes Etudes Commerciales at the University of Lausanne.


William Tame

William (Bill) Tame joined the Board as a representative non-executive director of Prestige/Strategic European Investment Group S.a.r.l. in June 2020. Bill will also join the Nomination Committee.


Bill has held a number of non-executive directorships, including most recently as Independent Non-Executive Director and subsequently Chairman of Southern Water Services Ltd (2015-2019) and Senior Independent Director and Audit Committee Chair of Carclo plc (2006-2015). He has also acted as an advisor for various private equity firms since 2019.


His first Board level executive appointment was as Group Finance Director of Scapa Group plc in 1999 and then as Group Finance Director and CEO of the International Division of Babcock International Group plc from 2001 to 2018.


Bill started his career at Thomson McLintock (now KPMG) where he qualified as a Chartered Accountant. He then held a number of financial roles in business, first at The Boots Company plc from (1981-1984) and then joined Courtaulds plc as Group Financial Controller in 1984 and taking up a series of regional Finance Director positions in the company up to 1999.

Executive Directors

Tobias Moers

Chief Executive Officer, Aston Martin Lagonda

Tobias Moers is Chief Executive Officer of Aston Martin Lagonda. He joined the business in August 2020, and is a Board Member of Aston Martin Lagonda Global Holdings PLC.


Before joining Aston Martin, Moers spent more than 25 years in senior roles at Daimler AG, the German-based global automotive OEM. He was Chairman of the Management Board and Chief Executive Officer of Mercedes-AMG GmbH, a position he held from October 2013. He was also acting Chief Technical Officer. He has established a successful track record of implementing business transformation in a competitive environment.


Born in May 1966, Moers has two children.


Kenneth Gregor, 

Chief Financial Officer, Aston Martin Lagonda

Ken Gregor is Chief Financial Officer of Aston Martin Lagonda. He joined the business in June 2020, and is a Board Member of Aston Martin Lagonda Global Holdings plc.


Ken has over 20 years of automotive experience, most recently as Chief Financial Officer of Jaguar Land Rover (JLR) for 11 years from 2008. Under his leadership, the finance group developed as a strong business partner to support the delivery of shareholder value and the company’s growth ambitions. Prior to his appointment as CFO, Ken held a number financial control roles within JLR from 1997, before which he worked in investment banking for HSBC.